A literary activist, Kabura Zakama engages in developmental literature and writing in indigenous languages. Working on becoming a publisher of literary works.

In 1999, he won the Association of Nigerian Authors ANA Poetry Prize for his collection of poems, The Man Lived.

The story of

Kabura Zakama

Kabura Zakama (born 11 May 1964) is a Nigerian poet, veterinarian and an international development and humanitarian practitioner.
In 1997, Kabura Zakama completed a Postgraduate Diploma in Management at Bayero University, Kano. He was awarded the Chevening Scholarship in 2004 and completed a Master’s degree in Governance and Development at the Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex in Brighton, United Kingdom in 2005.
His collection of poems, The Man Lived won the 1999 Association of Nigerian Authors ANA Poetry Prize. He has identified Birago Diop, Lenrie Peters, Tanure Ojaide and Kwesi Brew as the key influences on his poetry. In 1998, Zakama established Kairos Productions in order to publish upcoming writers. His poetry is well received across Africa and beyond.
Books Published
0 0

Works Timeline

Chant of the Angry (poems), Kairos Productions, 2021

The Man Lived (poems), Kairos Productions, 2004
Dance the Guns to Silence: 100 Poems for Ken Saro-Wiwa, edited by Nii Ayikwei Parkes and Kadija Sesay; flipped eye publishing and African Writers Abroad, 2005 (Anthology)
Five Hundred Nigeria Poets, Volume One, edited by Jerry Agada; Aboki Publishers, 2005 (Anthology)

Uncle Bola’s Promise: an Abuja Literary Society anthology of poems and prose, compiled by Victor Anoliefo; Foucault Publishers, Netherlands, 2003 (Anthology)

25 New Nigerian Poets, edited by Toyin Adewale; Ishmael Reed Publishing, 2000 (Anthology)

Passport to the New World, edited by Sunny Ayewanu; Apex Books Limited, 2001 (Anthology)

Vultures in the Air: Voices from Northern Nigeria, edited by Zaynab Alkali and Al Imfeld, Spectrum Books, 1995 (Anthology)

K. Zakama's Books.

Chant of The Angry

The Man Lived